DIY flannel skirt


By Hand London

With Autumn just around the corner, my thoughts have been turning to the cosy end of the style spectrum. In a bid to expand on my usual Winter uniform of jeans-flannel shirt-jumper, I’ve been thinking about versatile, casual skirts with all the effortless appeal of pulling on a pair of jeans. I think I may have nailed it. I’ll be wearing this flannel skirt with and without tights, over the knee socks, ankle socks, with sneakers, boots, heels and clogs… The only thing I won’t be wearing with it? Another flannel shirt!

You will need:

  • an old flannel shirt (on the big size as it needs to fit around your bottom!)
  • fabric scissors
  • a sewing machine

Step 1

From the bottom, measure up to how long you want your skirt to be, remembering to factor in about a centimetre seam allowance. Cut away the top of the shirt along this…

View original post 274 more words

Leave a Reply

